Gov. DeSantis extends state of emergency for Hurricane Idalia to 49 counties

Gov. Ron DeSantis has issued a new executive order increasing the number of counties under a state of emergency to 49.

The move comes as Hurricane Idalia moves into the Gulf of Mexico, with forecasters predicting it will become a Category 3 storm before making landfall.

Counties now covered under the emergency order include: Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Brevard, Calhoun, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, Columbia, DeSoto, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Gulf, Hamilton, Hardee, Hernando, Hillsborough, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Lee, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Manatee, Marion, Nassau, Orange, Osceola, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Sarasota, Seminole, St. Johns, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor,

Disclaimer: This article may require a subscription.