Florida does it again: 3 Republicans help prevent first-ballot Speaker win for Jim Jordan

Three Florida Representatives helped deny U.S. Rep. Jim Jordan a victory on the first ballot for House Speaker.

As expected, U.S. Reps. Mario Díaz-Balart, Carlos Giménez and John Rutherford declined to support the Ohio Republican. Díaz-Balart, a Hialeah Republican, and Rutherford, a Jacksonville Republican, both cast votes for Majority Leader Steve Scalise. The protest votes came less than a week after House Republicans in a conference vote chose Scalise over Jordan in a 113-99 vote.

Jordan supporters suggested that was too weak a majority to take to the House floor. That prompted Scalise to drop out. But Jordan on the first

Descargo de responsabilidad: Este artículo puede requerir una suscripción.

es_MXEspañol de México