Alachua County School Board elections: District 2 pits Mildred Russell against Diyonne McGraw

The race for the Alachua County Public Schools District 2 seat this year carries with it history from the last election cycle.

This election includes former school board member Diyonne McGraw and current member Mildred Russell.

Diyonne McGraw, left, was unseated by the governor a year ago and replaced with Mildred Russell following a residency dispute.

McGraw was previously elected to the seat in 2020 and then removed by Gov. Ron DeSantis after only seven months in office.

Her residence was then some 300 feet outside of the district, though that’s no longer the case after the redistricting process brought

Disclaimer: This article may require a subscription.

Leave a Comment